Inspiring Fantasy Trilogy for Marlon James

Marlon James’ Follow-Up to ‘A Brief History of Seven Killings’ Is an African Mythology-Inspired Fantasy Trilogy

Entertainment Weekly reports that A History of Seven Killings author Marlon James is following that massive, Man Booker Prize winning tome up with something even more extensive: a fantasy trilogy series. It’s called The Dark Star Trilogy, and will be composed of the novels Black Leopard, Red WolfMoon Witch, Night Devil; and The Boy and the Dark Star. 

James, a self-described sci-fi/fantasy geek, was inspired by a variety of sources — from African mythology to Dragonslayer to Game of Thrones to Ursula K. Le Guin. His fantasy series follows three mercenary characters who’re locked in the dungeon of a dying king’s castle as they await the trial for the death of a child they’d been tasked to find — a search that took them nine years instead of the expected two months, and ended with the child, and five other mercenaries, perishing. Each book in the trilogy will focus on a different mercenary’s perspective (each, he says, is something of a “witness testimony”) of what happened over those years — and in the interview with EW that accompanied the announcement, it’s no surprise that James also mentions Kurosawa’s Rashoman as another influence.

Read further @ Flavorwire

~ by eneryvibes on 1,March 15, 2017.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: