Book Review: Lauren Kate’s Passion

I’ve read the first two books of the Fallen Books by Lauren Kate, namely Fallen and Torment. I must say this third one I found the best up to now. The first two I had the idea the story was revolving on the same theme over and over again. Although I found it a bit nagging, I pushed through and read them out. In this review I’ll start with a recapitulation of the two first books.

Fallen is the story of seventeen year old Lucinda (or Luce as she is known). Lucinda Price is spending her junior year of high school in a reform school called Sword and Cross. She has been bothered by shadowy images for much of her life and lately these shadows have begun to alter her life. She has come to Sword and Cross because of an accident involving a friend. She is not trusted by her parents and is very unsure of how her actions caused her to be at Sword and Cross. The one thing she is sure of is that when the shadows come… she cannot control them and bad things tend to happen. She begins to make friends at school but they are questionable friends.

Lucinda is drawn to one person at school and that is Daniel Grigori. She is unsure why and he appears to have the opposite feeling about her. At the same time she is warned to stay away from him and is sort of charmed by another classmate Cam, who appears to be able to provide picnics and limo rides and tons of other contraband items.

After catching Luce and Cam kiss, Daniel finally finds the courage to explain his strange behavior to Luce. He is immortal, destined to meet and fall in love with Luce every seventeen years and must endure her death each time.  After finding the missing book who could uncover Daniel’s past, with the help of the librarian, Luce pieces together that Daniel is an angel, though she soon finds out he is not the only one who attends Sword & Cross.

In Torment Daniel tellls Luce for the thousand time that he must go away. Just long enough to hunt down the Outcasts—immortals who want to kill Luce. Daniel hides Luce at Shoreline, a school on the rocky California coast with unusually gifted students: Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans.

At Shoreline, Luce learns what the Shadows are, and how she can use them as windows to her previous lives. Yet the more Luce learns, the more she suspects that Daniel hasn’t told her everything. He’s hiding something—something dangerous. What if Daniel’s version of the past isn’t actually true? What if Luce is really meant to be with someone else? In this book, Luce questions her feeling for Daniel, and wonders if she really does need to end up with him even if the prophecy says so.  Daniel is very protective and tries to keep Luce safe by telling her what to do. Luce doesn’t like this demanding side of him, and tells him so.

Passion picks up where Torment left off. After a showdown between Angels and Outcasts in Luce’s parents’ backyard, she escaped in a so callled Announcer. By this time Luce knows how to manipulate the Shadows by opening a window to travel to her past self. Cam had tried to kill her and Daniel did nothing. The Outcasts wanted something of her probably to do with the curse, the one that kept Luce reincarnated lifetime after lifetime. From now on she will travel back in time looking for an answer and trying to break the curse.

Soon enough a little gargoyle named Bill pubs up like her companion, guiding her through her travels. They travel to different centuries and to different parts of the world, where she meets the Daniel of the past and her past self. Just in time to see how the past Luce gets burned up when getting to close to Daniel. She also understands now what Daniel had to go through each time he relives her passing. The future Daniel was also travelling on her tale, but was everytime too late.  In a moment of doubt Luce expresses to Bill that she’s the one who makes Daniel’s life miserable, instead of making him happy. Bill told her there is one way to put a stop to that by killing her soul and everybody would live ever after.

Finally Bill had an agenda and wasn’t who he seemed to be. He exposed himself after Luce told him she changed her mind about letting Daniel go. This brings about the wrath of Lucifer, Bill’s real identity, which will change everything for all of them.

There is still the final book Rapture of the series that I have to read. Be looking forward to this one.

LAUREN KATE is the internationally bestselling author of The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove and the Fallen novels: Fallen, Torment, Passion, and Rapture. Her books have been translated into more than thirty languages.

~ by eneryvibes on 1,March 28, 2012.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: