Peace Prize 2011 for Tahar Ben Jelloun

One of my favourite writers received the peace prize. Books I’ve read by his hand are L’ecrivain public (1983) and La nuit sacrée (1987). And he’s a marvelous writer

The Erich Maria Remarque Peace Prize, endowed with a sum of €25,000 will be awarded to the Moroccan author Tahar Ben Jelloun, born in 1944 in Fez, for his work which promotes the cause of peaceful coexistence of Christian and Muslim cultures. In awarding the prize, particular emphasis was placed on his latest collections of essays, Arab Spring (2011), examining the origins and consequences of the democracy movement in North Africa and the Middle East.

Since 1991, every two years the city of Osnabrück has awarded the Peace Prize named after the world famous, Osnabrück-born author Erich Maria Remarque. This year sees the prize presented for the eleventh time.

~ by eneryvibes on 1,September 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: